top of page

To the Best Friend I Lost


 

I know you may never read this, but on the slim chance that you do, there's a few things I would like you to know.

I have made multiple mistakes in my life, but just know that meeting you will never be one of them. I do regret how soon it ended, and how it ended, because there are so many things we never got a chance to do. The worst part is, I don't think we ever will. I made mistakes in our friendship, and as much as you might not want to admit it, so did you. We are both to blame here, we took our friendship for granted. We thought nothing would ever be strong enough to break us apart, until something did.

Don't ever think for a second that I forgot about you, because I never will. I may play it off that I'm fine and that I don't need you, but honestly, who wants to lose their best friend? It sucks. It's hard to think about how unaffected you seem by all of this too. I was losing you little by little, and then out of nowhere, I lost you for good. I like to think that I didn't see it coming, but in reality, I did. There was just nothing I could do to stop it, our friendship was coming to an end. We were moving on to new chapters in our lives, and neither of us fit into each others, no matter how hard we tried.

I really do hope you're doing well, and I want you to know, I miss you. I hope you're happy with where you are in life, because you deserve it. Maybe one day our paths will cross again, if it does, I can't wait. However, as for now, I have to learn to live and let go. Trying to hold and fix our broken friendship everyday was draining. It came to the point where all we did was argue everyday. It just wasn't worth it anymore. We may not see eye to eye anymore, but just know that all I want for you in the end is to be happy.

I have come to accept that you can't force people to be in your life if they don't want to. Also, you can't force change upon people, even if may be for the best. All you can do is try and give the best advice possible, and if it doesn't work out in the end, then maybe you should reevaluate your relationship with the person. Life is a rollercoaster, you win some battles, and you lose some. Just try to remember that everything happens for a reason, and things will eventually work out for you in the end.

"Do not waste your time looking back on what you have lost. Move on, for life is not meant to be traveled backwards." -Unkown

Anyways, I'll always consider you my best friend, I love you.


bottom of page